Middlebury

Liaison Guide to Web Help Desk

This is internal documentation for LIS Liaisons.

How to...

Take Action on New Tickets

  1. Review the ticket. If you can handle it immediately, feel free to go ahead. Assign the ticket to yourself, and follow the instructions below.
  2. When you view the ticket, check to see if anyone else has already claimed it. If so, you're done!
  3. If you do not personally have time or expertise, feel free to wait a short while (e.g. 4 hours for Priority 3) and see if someone else claims
  4. Generally do not assign tickets to other liaisons. Carrie, Terry, or Joe may do that from time to time if a ticket appears to be languishing.

Go to Web Help Desk

  1. http://go.middlebury.edu/whd
  2. log in
  3. If you get a warning message that says the ticket is for another client, click the yellow guy in upper right to view as a “Tech”
  4. If you get a warning message that says another tech is working on the ticket, call the tech before editing the ticket.

Open (aka create) ticket

  1. “New ticket”
  2. Enter client’s last name, search, find a match
  3. Review history, make sure a related ticket doesn’t already exist
  4. (Usually don’t need to attach an asset)
  5. “Ticket details” tab
  6. Location: Make sure it says “Middlebury.” Don’t worry about the rest.
  7. Request type, request subtype.
  8. Assign to “tech group” or “myself”
    1. If you’re assigning a ticket to yourself: Save the ticket, view the ticket again, escalate it to the appropriate level, assign to yourself again, then save again.
  9. Subject
  10. Request details
  11. Status
    1. Open = Default. Most common.
    2. Pending = Waiting for something to happen, for example we need to do something something internally before moving forward. WHD will not send alerts.
    3. Customer hold = Waiting for client to do something. WHD will not send alerts.
  12. Priority level: Usually, keep the default. It’s based on info you’ve already entered.
  13. Due date: Usually, we don’t use this.
  14. Recipients: Usually, keep the default. It’s based on info you’ve already entered.

Add note and send message

  1. In “Notes,” click “New”
    1. Record information such as what you’ve done and what you recommend to the client.
    2. “Visible to client”: Look at this box, choose depending on whether you want the client to see the note. IMPORTANT: The default is “Visible to Client." This means that all tech notes are visible to clients unless you uncheck that box. It should be a rare occasion when we enter anything in a ticket we do not want the client to see, but for those occasions, please be sure to uncheck that box.
    3. Save the note. (If the note is “visible to client,” background will turn blue when saved.
  2. Might need to fill in custom fields (will be alerted later).
  3. Save the note
  4. Save & Email, or Save
    1. Best practice: Send only one note, rather than the entire history.
      1. Save the ticket.
      2. Make the contents of the note read like an email “Dear James,” etc.
      3. Make sure the note is “visible to client”
      4. Click on the “send” button for the note
    2. Save & Email - Will send everything, including all notes that are “visible to client” to everyone who is checked under “Recipients.” Not very easy for client to read.

Re-route to another group in LIS

  1. Escalate (change the group listed under “Tech Group”)
    1. If you’re assigning a ticket to yourself, select the appropriate group here. (eg curricular tech level 3)
    2. If the ticket should have gone to another group because it was assigned the wrong request type, then:
      1. look for the right request type, change it.
      2. if no appropriate request type, assign to Jim Stuart
      3. Also could assign to one person and cc: another

Finish working on a ticket

  1. Change the ticket status.
    1. Best practice: Resolved. Select this so that the client has a chance to say “Nope, I need more help”
    2. In some cases: Closed. Select this and be done with it.
  2. Very important. Click on the back button (arrow) to close out of the ticket. If you don’t do this, the ticket will say you’re still working on it for an hour after you leave, even if you log out of WHD.

Create a question for the Web Help Desk FAQ

Powered by MediaWiki