Middlebury

Difference between revisions of "Quitting an Application on a Mac"

m (New page: #Click on the application's menu. This is the menu that's immediately to the right of the apple logo in the upper left corner of the screen. E.g. Safari's application menu is called just "...)
 
(Added tag: 'OS X')
Line 7: Line 7:
  
 
[[Category:Mac]]
 
[[Category:Mac]]
 +
[[Category:OS X]]

Revision as of 22:58, 27 February 2009

  1. Click on the application's menu. This is the menu that's immediately to the right of the apple logo in the upper left corner of the screen. E.g. Safari's application menu is called just "Safari".
  2. Click "Quit"

What's the difference between quitting an application and just closing a window?

If you just close a window, the application remains running in the background, taking up memory. It's also necesarry to quit an application before deleting it's preference file (useful for troubleshooting).