Middlebury

Segue Helpdesk FAQs

Revision as of 12:03, 26 September 2012 by Adam Franco (talk | contribs)
Segue was decommissioned on August 31st, 2012 and is no longer available for use.

Student FAQs:

Q: When I go to the course web site, I get an error "not authorized to view this site".
A: Log into Segue with your Midd username and password (upper right corner)


Q: Why can't I access my course site?
A: Are you registered for class?
A: Did you recently add the class?
A: Is your class site in the course site listing
A: Is another section of your class on the course site listing?
(if so, the instructor needs to add your section to the site)


Q: Why don't I see my classes in Segue?
A: Go to the Segue Portal > Current Classes link.


Q: Why is my class not listed in Segue Current Classes?
A: Did you recently add the class?  Segue may not yet have received the Banner updates.


Q: How do I upload a file to the course site?

A. Here are steps for uploading a file to Segue:

  1. Go to the page on your course site where you have been instructed to upload files
  2. Click on the "+ Content" link
  3. Chose "File" (or "Audio Clip" for mp3 audio files)
  4. Type in a title and click the "Create" button



Faculty FAQs:

Q: How do I create a course site?

A: If you (the faculty member) have never created a course site, refer to Liaison.  This may not be a Segue question.


Q: Why doesn't my course site appear in the course listing?
-course listings are updated only 1-2 times a day (less during the middle of a semester). The update process is not automated.
-did you create your site in the "placeholder" for current year semester?

Students in my class cannot access my course site?
-students need to be added as members of the site
-members of the site need to be assigned at least the role of Reader or Commenter
-if you created a site in a placeholder for one section, students in other sections also need to be added as site members


Q: Why can only some of the students in my class can access my site?
-are all the students who cannot access the site from a particular section of the site
-are the students who cannot access the site recently registered


Q: How do I add a Midd student as an auditor to the site?
A: Find the student in the Roles UI search, add the student to the site members group OR assign a role to the auditor individually.


Q: How do I add a non-Midd auditor to the site?
A: Ask the non-Midd auditor to create an account (via Segue > Visitor Registration) and then add to the site members group or assign the user a role on the site


Q: How come students in a particular section of my course cannot access the course site and do not see the course site in their Segue > Current Classes?
A: If you create a course site in the "placeholder" for one section of a course, then you need to:

  1. Make the other sections "aliases" of the section you created the site in
  2. Add students in other sections as members of the site


Q: How do I set up my Segue site for discussion?

A. To set up your Segue site for discussion, you need to enable for discussion the content blocks that contain the discussion topics and assign students the role of Commenter on your site Here are the steps:

  1. Click on the "Roles" link (upper right corner) on your site
  2. Click on "Modify Roles" button for your class group and/or site members
  3. Click on buttons in the "Commenter" column to assign the role of Commenter

Once students in class have the role of Commenter, create the content blocks with discussion topics and text as follows:

  1. Click the "+ Content" link to create a new content block that will contain the discussion topic text
  2. Chose "Text & Images" and a title that describes the dicussion topic
  3. Click the "Create" button
  4. Click on the "Options" link in the green box surrounding your new content block
    (You can do this before or after you edit your new content block and add discussion text)
  5. To the right of Discussion in the options panel, chose "Yes"
  6. Click the "Apply Changes" buttons when you are done.

If you have already created content blocks with discussion topics and text, then simply click on "Options" for these and chose "yes" for discussion.  If you would like all the content blocks on a given page to be enable for discussion by default, do the following:

  1. Click on the "Options" link in the blue box surrounding all of your discussion content blocks
  2. To the right of Discussion in this options panel, chose "Yes"
  3. Click the "Apply Changes" buttons when you are done.

Note: the above instructions are for "New Mode" (recommended).  If you are using "Classic mode," the options for enabling discussion are available when you edit your new content block under Display Options


Q: How do I set up my Segue site so that students can add content to the site?

A. To allow your students to add content to your site (instead of just posting to discussion), you need to assign them the role of "Author" or "Editor" to those portions of your site that you want them to add content to.  "Author" role allows students to add and edit their own content.  "Editor" role allows them to add and edit any content in that portion of the site you have given them the "Editor" role.  Here are the steps:

  1. Click on the "Roles" link (upper right corner) on your site
  2. Click on "Modify Roles" button for your class group and/or site members
  3. Click on buttons in the "Author" column to assign the role of author OR "Editor" to assign them the role of editor
  4. Click the "Save Changes" buttons when you are done.


Q: How do I restrict access to some portions of my site?

A. To restrict access to portions of your site, specify roles for different users and groups in the Roles UI.  Here are the steps:

  1. Click on the "Roles" link (upper right corner) on your site
  2. Click on "Modify Roles" button for the users or group that you want to assign roles to
  3. Click the "Save Changes" buttons when you are done.

The roles UI allows you to assign roles to your entire site or to individual sections, pages or content blocks on your site.  To assign roles, click on the button(s) in the row(s) that represent the portion of your site you are assigning access to.  Chose buttons in columns for the type of access you want the given user/group to have within that portion of your site.  Click on the column titles to get information about the type of access each role has.


Q: How do I hide content on my site and then make visible on a particular date (or for a particular time period)?

A. Unlike Segue v1, Segue v2 does NOT have content activation dates.  Thus to hide content on your site, you need to restrict access (using Roles UI) until the date you want the content to be available.  At that date you must then update the access.  Here are steps:

  1. Click on the "Roles" link (upper right corner) on your site
  2. Click on "Modify Roles" button for the users or group that you want to assign roles to
  3. Chose the role of "No Access" to all portions of your site that you want to hide from given users/groups
  4. Click the "Save Changes" buttons when you are done.
  5. When you want to make the content visible again, return to the Roles UI and change the role to "Reader"


Q. How do I make a copy of a course site from previous semester to use in a current or upcoming semester

A. Segue sites can be copied to "empty" placeholders as follows:

  1. Click on the "copy" link for the site you want to make a copy of
  2. Browse to the "placeholder" where you want to copy the site to
    (Segue sites can only be copied to "empty" placeholders.  If a site already exists in the placeholder, then that site must be deleted before another site can be "pasted" into it)
  3. Click on the "paste" link for the placeholder where you want to paste the site
  4. Review the move/copy options and click the "Copy checked" button
    (Generally it is best to make a copy of an existing course site into a new location and to remove discussion posts and roles)